Joyeux Noel!

Last night we had a wonderful dinner with a bunch of other people who were staying at the hostel. There was a huge amount of food and tons of merriment to go around. At midnight the champagne was broken out and many cheers of “joyeux noel!” were heard. After which, the lights went down, the music came up and the dancing began. Having not had enough wine myself to start dancing on the tables (yeah, Slava was up there) I occupied myself by running away from an alarmingly persistent Russian admirer.

Apparently after I got tired and went to bed the Russian had a little more luck with one of the Swiss girls who was sharing a dorm with me, as 2 out of 3 of them didn’t return to the room last night. What happened with the second one, from what I heard, was a little too sordid and disgusting to recount on this blog, but everyone in the hostel knew about it and there were some crass jokes at the breakfast table the next morning about Russia and Brazil invading Switzerland.

The joking aside, breakfast was very nice affair with pancakes and strawberries made by Elliott and another of the guys staying at the hostel. I spent the rest of the day nursing a hangover (which in relation to the amount of wine I actually drank seemed very unfair) and generally wallowing in self pity from the lack of anything to do, or anywhere to go and missing my family 😦 A little later on a few people decided to go to church, even though none of them were actually Catholic, or even Christian for that matter, which was a nice escape from the monotony of the hostel all day. Hopefully tonight will be an early night and tomorrow will be filled with many different sights and shopping in Nice!

3 Responses to “Joyeux Noel!”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    xxx

  2. Jenny Says:

    Doe, you gotta start signing your comments. But yeah, that’s the gist of it.

  3. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    Actually, the xxx was me…trying to see how aunt beth posted without an account.

    I swear when I first tried to post, it wouldn’t accept anonymous posts…only way I could figure to post was to create a blogger account.

Leave a Reply

