Do I stay or go?

Sometimes I wake up with an idea in my head that just doesn’t want to go away. This morning it was Spain and Portugal. These were two of the countries that we didn’t get to see when we were in Europe in December (ok, we went to Barcelona, but apparently it’s not the same), and that trip has since sparked this huge desire to travel in me.

Since recently becoming single, I keep thinking about the idea of being independent and making decisions on my own, and I’ve talked to a few people who have travelled by themselves who have said that there is no better experience to find out who you really are. So I’m playing with the idea of taking two weeks in September (I’d take longer, but I’m a working woman now with limited vacation time) and seeing a couple of cities that I didn’t get to in December. It scares the crap out of me, but I think right now would be the perfect time in my life to do it.

Any advice on travelling alone, Spain, Portugal, anything related is totally welcome.

2 Responses to “Do I stay or go?”

  1. Miss Moose Says:

    hey jenny
    just finally got a chance to catch up on my internet after a couple very busy months – i say go on a trip alone definitely – if you are super nervous you could always join a ‘rustic’ tour group (maybe one that focuses on yummy food or something) for the first week and then venture the last week on your own.
    just read your article from the varsity – your company sounds wicked!
    anywho back in toronto now (was all over, vic, greece, kenora etc) and dani is returning to toronto either today or tomorrow so we should all go out sometime soon! would love to hear more about your company! later m 🙂
    my email is mayahughes(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Jay Goldman Says:

    Jenny –

    Do it! I backpacked through Western Europe for two weeks “alone” after I graduated from University – you’ll be alone for the amount of time it takes to get from the train station to your first hostel, where you’ll meet tons of cool people and end up travelling with them. I spent a few days with a crew from Oshawa (of all people to meet in Amsterdam), then ran into someone from that hostel in Paris and went to a Beastie Boys concert. Travel is always good and challenging yourself is even better – so combining them together is like putting peanut butter in chocolate.

Leave a Reply

