All work and no play makes Jenny a dull girl

Clearly my other blog is where the action is right now because that’s all I’ve been doing. Getting all sorts of Toronto content is a crazy and very time-consuming job, but it’s giving me some nice legs, a good tan and a ridiculous knowledge of the city.

I did however manage to squeeze in a trip to Buffalo on the weekend to hit up a wedding for some free food and booze. Yes, I did go with Chris, and I am not answering ANY questions about why I went to a wedding with my ex-boyfriend, so don’t even bother asking.

Anyway, so we almost missed the ceremony because the bridge traffic was backed up onto the QEW in Fort Erie, so I ended up coming in almost 2 hours late. That was after just barely meeting all my ttc connections that got me to the bus station with 15 minutes to spare only to walk into the station to see a ticket line from here to next year. I jumped on the bus just as it was almost about to pull away, so imagine my despair seeing the ridiculous line to get into the States. Thankfully I was a quick thinker and snuck up to the front of the bus so i was first in line for customs. When I told them I had to get to a wedding in 15 minutes, they let me right through and Chris picked me up at the border.

So it turns out that even though we got to the church at 2:35, when the wedding started at 2, we only missed the first 5 minutes of the ceremony because the car the bride was in broke down on Grand Island and was being pushed by a couple of men in tuxes. I have no idea how they made it to the church.

The reception was lovely, set on the steps of the Buffalo historical society, with its grand marble pillars, facing onto a large pond with a Japanese garden. We were seated with 4 girls that were friends with the bride in college and started out the evening a complete riot. Turns out they were so ridiculously funny because they were loaded before dinner even started. It went downhill from there, including innapropriate jokes about our waiter’s…ahem…um…size. While he was standing there.

The band was wonderful, the food was delicious, the venue was beautiful, and aside from the odd complaints about the heat inside (the building wasn’t air conditioned and it was hot) it was a great wedding.

3 Responses to “All work and no play makes Jenny a dull girl”

  1. Bobby Says:

    You do seem to go to a lot of weddings, don’t you?

  2. Jenny Says:

    ‘Tis the season.

  3. Bobby Says:

    I would’ve figured that Spring would be the season. But I don’t get invited to many weddings.

    I’m betting there’s a connection there… probably also cos I suck at buying gifts…

Leave a Reply

