Nature vs. Nurture


We’ve always known that while my sisters and I all look alike, we’re terribly different in a lot of ways and this was so obvious tonight when I called home. My older sister Christina (on the left) is the one who just got engaged and is every bit a country girl, to the point where she goes to the Havelock country jambouree, buys tickets to Brad Paisley concerts, rides horses western style and owns a FISHING LICENCE. When she came to my apartment for the first time she was astounded at the fact that I live right on Queen Street and not at least on a sidestreet somewhere. Christina answered the phone tonight and proceeded to tell me that she was very excited because she and her fiance had just bought a trailer. After explaining repeatedly that I had no idea what she was talking about, she had to send me an email with pictures….

It took me a while to recover from this one. Once I had picked myself up off the floor and caught my breath again, I was able to work the word “podunk” in a couple of times. This is just precious. Now they can have a nice comfortable place to stay for the Havelock Country Jambouree next year, and they’re planning on taking it to the East Coast at some point to meet the rest of their podunk relatives.

Now, as if that wasn’t enough, my younger sister Carolyn had some news too. She told me that she had just gotten a job at Palm Beach Mega Tan. This is the girl that spends 100% of her income on her clothes and hair (and let me tell you, the hair is not a small expense), so really I shouldn’t be that surprised. Clearly the leather purse jokes are too easy to be avoided and will be out in full force this Thanksgiving weekend.

Sometimes it’s hard to believe we all grew up in the same house.

4 Responses to “Nature vs. Nurture”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    It seems to me that you’ve gone through several instances of poor judgment yourself, doll. Perhaps you’ve forgotten that your sisterly similarities FAR outweigh the differences (e.g. lack of volume control). You all grew up in the same house, you share the same DNA, and I’m not entirely convinced that you’re all that different.

    Perhaps you should embrace your siblings instead of criticizing them, lest you be mistaken for an uppity intellectual snob.

    Some might consider Thai food and $20 nightclub cover charges to be a waste of money as well…

  2. Anonymous Says:

    By the way…this is a MUCH better photo of all three of you. Very hot.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/jenilynn/165697005/in/set-72157594163536905/

  3. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    boy…anonymous hit the nail right on the head…lack of volume control…

    I have had friends stop by the house for a “pop”, and leave shaking their heads, amazed that I have maintained my sanity while living in a house full of women…esecially ones that never shut up.

    I don’t think any of them are that uppity intellectual…more like a tag team of lady wrestlers, when they can’t get along.

    I think Jennifer is jealous of Christina…Christina will have a summer and a winter home, while Jennifer is stuck in an apartment all the time. I am sure Jennifer can visit the trailer in the summer…she can help split the wood you can see outside the trailer…:-)

  4. Jenny Says:

    I think we’ve already established that I am an uppity intellectual snob, do we have to go through this again?

    Besides, what are sisters for if you can’t make fun of them and borrow their shoes at the same time?

    And there’s no way I could split wood because I’d be too busy dying of laughter at the fact that SHE BOUGHT A TRAILER.

Leave a Reply

