Abercrombie & Fitch

I had a terrible experience at the Eaton Centre this weekend, which consisted of fighting hordes of 16 year old girls who were all going to my favourite stores, stealing the good sizes, making them a ridiculous mess, and creating huge lines for the change rooms and cash registers. The experience has made me swear off malls forever (not shopping, just malls, you can close your mouth now). The one thing that did make me smile (actually, not just smile, I laughed out loud) while fighting the crowds was the Abercrombie and Fitch store.

Now, I have never bought anything from A&F because they’re selling an image, rather than actual quality clothing and thank you, I’m not 14 anymore, I know the difference and I don’t buy it. So while I’m walking by the store, I casually glanced at it and saw a very shirtless, very ripped, male model standing at the entrance. Seriously. Just standing there. This is their idea of a marketing ploy. I felt so embarassed for this guy! Ridiculous!

I wanted very badly to take a picture with my camera phone to prove that I’m not lying, but I couldn’t actually bring myself to do it, so here’s some pictures I found on Flickr from some other abercrombie stores:



12 Responses to “Abercrombie & Fitch”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    That’s what you get for going to a mall on a Saturday and hanging out in stores designed to rob teenagers of not only money, but also individual style, free expression, and independent thought.

    It should be noted that the jeans that ripped, shirtless guy is wearing were more than likely stitched together by a nine-year-old orphan somewhere in the bowels of a Mongolian sweatshop.

    God Bless America!

  2. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    Clearly you need to move to a size where you’re not competing with the 16yo’s. This can be accomplished through sufficient eating. The journey can be quite delightful.

  3. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    Those picture look a lot like me when I was younger…probably why your mother wouldn’t leave me alone…:-)

  4. Tuco Says:

    http://www.macleans.ca/topstories/business/article.jsp?content=20061113_136481_136481

    Hey Jenny – the newest macleans actually has an article on abercrombie. I hope the above link works.

  5. Jenny Says:

    That article was fucking fantastic. I went into Hollister once and I wanted to run out of it screaming. The article just told me it’s because I’m “too old”. Maybe it’s because I have a brain and use it.

  6. Jenny Says:

    Oh, and I happen to just be small boned. 16 year olds these days are just bigger than they used to be.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Holy shit:

    “ ‘That’s why we hire good-looking people in our stores,’ Jeffries recently told Salon magazine. ‘Because good-looking people attract other good-looking people, and we want to market to cool, good-looking people. We don’t market to anyone other than that.’ ”

    This is the quintessential example of the schlock these retailers are slinging, thereby perpetuating the worst imaginable culture of shallowness that’s already destroying our teenagers.

    Mike Jeffries. What an asshole.

  8. Jenny Says:

    You know what the worst part of all this is? You would hope that such a terrible company would just fall flat on its face, but it doesn’t! Doesn’t say much for the society we live in.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Perhaps it will prevent you from shopping there in the future…

  10. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    Hollister is the clothing store at the Eaton Centre which is really dark inside, right? I’d never seen a store like that before. I’m sure they have their reasons, but here is my alternate theory: you will only realize that the merchandise sucks once you can see it, which will be after you’ve left the store. And you won’t dare return it, because then you’d have to admit that you made a mistake, and if you made mistakes you wouldn’t be good enough to shop at Hollister, would you?

    Donata, don’t say you love me unless you really really mean it, because I’m not going to divorce my wife only to have you leave me high and dry. To answer your question, Jenny didn’t find me; I found her. Well, actually I found her blog, a few years ago when not too many Torontonians were blogging. I guess those small bones are good for typing.

  11. Jenny Says:

    Don’t believe a word Donata says, she’s a maneater. She’ll break your heart 🙂

  12. Anonymous Says:

    Had the horrible experience to going to Hollister to purchase a much needed sweater for my niece. I had an instant headache when entering the store and couldnt hear a word the salesperson was saying to me (music blasting out of speakers)..She told me it was to appeal to the younger crowd. I asked her who actually has the larger credit limits on credit cards to which she answered, these kids today have a lot of disposable income!..go figure…anyway, I was directed to a much “shorter” line to pay at the back of the store filled with teeny boppers each paying for their individual sweater and a salesclerk who moved slower than my pet turtle – I waited 20 minutes to pay!! When I arrived home last night I discovered that the bimbo behind the cash desk forgot to put one of my purchase items in my shopping bag!! I cant bring myself to go back to that store!! Just horrible!!!

Leave a Reply

