Growing up and crossing the chasm

I’ve been learning a lot about what it means to be considered a “youth” recently. Not just from a research perspective, but from my own point of view as well. For all intents and purposes, I’m considered an adult. I live on my own, I have a job, I pay the bills. However, I’ve felt younger than ever because I’ve crossed over into a world where I am one of the youngest people and my youth is a novelty.

I’ve been actively resisting the label of “professional” because it seems to be a label that is mutually exclusive to other characteristics such as “young” and “fun” (this is the point where I piss off professionals worldwide). I felt as though I was selling my soul to corporate america by putting my profile on Linked In and I still shudder at the thought. I’m not ready to grow up yet!

This weekend, I met up with some friends that I hadn’t seen since first year university and the icky memory that I have of the night is not of me dancing on the bar or throwing up from overindulgence (I feel that I have to point out that neither of these things actually happened), but the fact that while socializing I was also networking. That’s right folks, I was fully getting business cards and talking about different ways that my company might collaborate with different people that I met. I feel dirty.

The funny part about this is realizing that I’m in the precarious position where I’m straddling the chasm. I’ve got feet in both worlds. Even though I’m networking, instead of asking for a business card I’m saying “Are you on myspace or facebook? Add me and we’ll talk”.

3 Responses to “Growing up and crossing the chasm”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Yeah, well you should feel dirty. You start selling your soul at this tender age, you’ll be completely devoid of anything human by the time you hit 30. You’ll end up chasing the next dollar until you’re too old to enjoy any of it. Then you’ll move someplace warm and die.

    Nice life, eh?

  2. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    How is “professional” mutually exclusive with “young”? Have you not heard of “yuppie” = Young Urban (or Upwardly Mobile, depending on choice of definition) Professional? And “fun” is not a problem either, because yuppies have lots of what they consider to be fun.

    In fact, things are even worse than you had been thinking, because you appear to be a yuppie. At some point you will buy a BMW 3-series car. And when you and your car or taxi block traffic in front of the Drake as I’m driving along Queen West to my nearby home, I curse you and the other f-ing yuppies. (If you don’t go to the Drake, substitute the name of an upscale nightspot you do go to.)

    I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but better to know now than later, so you can get started on wrestling with your angst. (If you have no angst then you are a fully perfect yuppie.)

    Oh, I’m enjoying this. Finally, an advantage to being “older”. Well, there are also seniors’ discounts, but that’s some time away. Enjoy your age while you can.

  3. Jenny Says:

    Ugh, a yuppie? I just had a full body shudder. It’s worse than I thought.

    Excuse me, but I think I have a date with my angst.

Leave a Reply

