Ahhhhhhh life

The past week has been pretty hectic, I feel like now I’ve finally got a minute to breathe.

My good friend Nadia had a terrible tragedy fall on her family when her brother-in-law, Bruno, passed away last week. She wrote a very touching entry about him and the memories she has of him here. I’d ask you all to keep Nadia’s family in your prayers, especially her sister Jen and their son Nicolas, I just can’t imagine how they’re going to go on living each day.

I went down to Niagara Falls last Wednesday night for visitation at the funeral home, and we ended up getting into an accident on the highway (don’t worry, we’re ok) and then the next morning Donata’s car got towed from where it was parked in front of my apartment. It was all just so ridiculous, but put into perpective considering where we had just come from.

Thursday night I coincidentally had two events to attend in the same building, an hour apart from each other. How’s that for convenience? The first was a U of T Alumni Shaker, which apparently has been going on for a while and is a really popular event (my guess is that it has to do with the free food and booze). I ran into some old friends from University and made some new ones. Right after, we went to check out the new bar called Route 365 where VFM (another JLA company down the hall from us) is having their Christmas party. I’m sure it’s going to be a very interesting event, as the bar is equipped with 4 brand new shiny brass poles. Nice.

The following evening I made the trek down to Buffalo to visit the boy and his family. I got a very pleasant surprise when he surprised me with tickets to see the Nutcrakcer! I looooooove the Nutcracker and didn’t think I was going to be able to see it this year, with our crazy schedules and tickets going quickly because it’s in the new opera house. We saw it on Saturday night at Shea’s in Buffalo, which is an incredibly gorgeous theatre. The whole lobby is made from marble, it’s just really beautiful, and of course the show was amazing. I bounced up and down in my seat throughout the whole thing.

The bus ride back to Toronto on Sunday night was aboslutely ridiculous. Because of the Bills game that evening and the fact that it was a long weekend, the ride form the Buffalo bus station to the border, which usually takes 5 minutes took AN HOUR AND FIFTEEN MINUTES. Then when we eventually got there we had to wait for 8 buses to clear customs before us. Oh well, it gave me a chance to catch up on my reading. The part that actually got me irritated was when the emergency exit on the roof of the bus blew open with a huge bang and couldn’t be fixed so we all had to ride from St. Catherines to Toronto with the roof open. It was not warm.

Ahhhhh. Now I’m back with a little bit of time to be able to start dealing with the funny smell that is being emitted from somewhere in my kitchen.

3 Responses to “Ahhhhhhh life”

  1. Bobby Says:

    Perspective can be such a funny thing. Do you believe in coincidence? I find they go hand in hand so often, if you’re so inclined to look.

  2. Slava Says:

    Heh, “fooked” 🙂
    Oh Donata…

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Hi, Jennifer.

    Have you heard about the VFM Xmas party?

    How was the DJ? 😉

    Sean

Leave a Reply

