I’m here!

After what was possibly the most stressful week in my life, I’ve made it down to California in one piece. The past 9 days have just flown by and I can’t believe I actually got everything done in the time that I had, and it was surprisingly easy. Well, easy in the sense that there were no major setbacks, which I had fully expected when I realised that I needed a new passport in 2 days and that the only place to apply for a TN visa is at the airport. I spent today meeting people at MusicIP, eating pizza, learning more about the company, applying for an SSN and hunting for apartments. The problem I’m having now, and that I’ve been having for the past week is that as incredibly tired as I am, I just can’t get to sleep because I’m so excited about everything!

I opened the blinds of my hotel room this morning, after coming in from the airport after dark last night, to find that outside my window were palm trees (which I fully expected) and MOUNTAINS (which I obviously did not). Rachel played them down by calling them “foothills” but let’s be honest, to this little girl from Toronto, they’re frickin mountains. The weather here feels like that first nice day of spring where it’s finally warm enough to take off your jacket in the sun and everyone’s outside all of a sudden enjoying the nice weather. I keep half-expecting to see dirty piles of melting snow by the sides of the road.

I can’t stop rubbing my eyes at the moment, so I’ll take that as a clue to close the laptop and at least try to get some sleep. More to follow.

3 Responses to “I’m here!”

  1. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    You mean you’re working there legally??? Time to take “Adventures” out of your blog’s title!

    Or, become The Little Old Lady From Pasadena.

  2. Jenny Says:

    Yup. Totally legal. Took me 10 minutes to get a visa at the airport. Crazy, isn’t it?

  3. Bobby Says:

    Those stupid Americans… so trusting of us Canadians. When really, there couldn’t be more reasons to be terribly, terribly afraid…

Leave a Reply

