I heart Bangkok

I’m having a really hard time trying to describe this city, other than saying it’s incredibly amazing. Everything is so busy and loud and fast. It’s so different than what I was expecting, actually, I’m not quite sure what I was expecting. It’s filled with so many opposites, it seems poor, but it’s also so advanced, it seems dirty, but parts are so meticulously clean you could eat off the floor.

I walked out of the hostel this morning not having a clue what I was going to do and I ran into some girls that were staying in the same room as me who wanted to go shopping near Siam Square, so we took the skytrain and got lost along the way but managed to find this back alley filled with really cheap and unique clothes. I got a skirt, a pair of shorts and a dress all for about 400 baht, which is about $11. I spent a lot of time enjoying the crazy sights and the smells of street food which is EVERYWHERE. We went into a mall, which was totally different than malls at home, but very much the same at the same time. That pretty much describes everything about Bangkok – different, but the same.

The girls are going for a massage while I try to take a short nap (seriously, I have a problem, I went to bed at 4am last night and woke up at 8am, still tired but can’t sleep) then we’re going to start drinking.

I booked a plane ticket to Phuket tomorrow. I’m staying in Phuket town for a night, then heading over to Hat Karen (beach!) for two more nights.

2 Responses to “I heart Bangkok”

  1. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    Be sure to tell your readers the correct pronunciation of “Phuket”.

  2. Jenny Says:

    Oh god Doe, you friggin kill me sometimes.

Leave a Reply

