Which way to the beach?

I’m in an internet cafe in Hat Karon on Phuket, the hotel I’m staying at doesn’t have internet, so I’m forced to pay for it here. Soooooo, flew into Phuket, which was pretty uneventful, except for when I fell asleep in the cab to the airport in Bangkok and the driver had to nudge me awake when we got there. I’m seriously getting way too lax about traveling now. I got to the Phuket airport and the bus that I was supposed to take into Phuket Town had stopped running, so I was forced to take the airport minibus, which was such a farce and I was exhausted and just wanted to start yelling at people. It took them ages to organize people into different cars, and then on the way there they stopped at a TRAVEL AGENT to try to sell us rooms. One guy was trying to tell me that because it was late, my hostel that I had booked probably wouldn’t be open. Then he asked if I wanted to go to the market. Seriously. After we all piled back into the van, they dropped me off about a 5 minute walk from where I was staying and said that because I was a lady he didn’t think I should walk there this late at night, but there was a hotel across the street where he could get me a room. I threw my bag on my back and just said that at this point, if somone tried to mess with me, the last thing I would be is a lady.

I took the bus from Phuket Town to Hat Karon the next morning (and I have to mention that I’m always the only farang on these buses, go me!). As soon as I checked into my hotel in Karon I did the most obvious thing and hit the BEACH! They charge 100 baht to use the beach chairs and umbrellas, which I willingly forked over after taking into consideration the obscenely hot temperature and my blazing white skin. Somehow I still managed to burn.

I met two Canadian girls who were travelling with an Australian guy and made plans to go out with them later. After lying on the beach for the entire day, I went back to my room, showered and changed and then went out to dinner with my new friends. We had plans to go to Patong after dinner, so we hit up the 7-11, grabbed some booze and spent the next few hours playing drinking games in their hotel room. Patong is pretty much known as a hole of partying and debauchery with tons of Thai girls that are really boys. I can’t write anything else about what happened after we took a tuk tuk to Patong, it’s just really inappropriate. If you really want to know, ask me when I get home.

Which brings me up to this morning, and I’m ridiculously hung over, so I figured the best solution would be to take a nap on a chair at the beach. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Looking into going to Kho Phi Phi tomorrow.

6 Responses to “Which way to the beach?”

  1. Bobby Says:

    I threw my bag on my back and just said that at this point, if somone tried to mess with me, the last thing I would be is a lady.

    You’re awesome. Like the female equivalent of Batman. Which no, isn’t Batgirl.

  2. Johnson Says:

    OMG. You’re not a lady anymore? That would explain the inappropriate behaviour you participated in. SOOOOO fitting, of course. YOU WIN AGAIN!

  3. Jenny Says:

    Oh, maybe I should have been more clear, the inappropriateness had nothing to do with stuff I did, but more with things that I saw.

  4. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    Thai girls who are really boys; Canadian lady who isn’t a lady; you fit right in!

  5. anonymous johnsonymous Says:

    okey dokey. California girls are known for their loose morals. You really need to get back there and live up to that! exciting!

    why is your life so rocking right now? woo woo! rocking! rocking!!!

  6. anonymous johnsonymous Says:

    What is it? Drunken unprotected sex with a transgendered thai couple? Man, you really know how to live!

Leave a Reply

