Koh Phi Phi

I took a boat to Koh Phi Phi yesterday and met up with a bunch of crazy Irish and Scottish guys that I hooked up with to find a room here. Everything is much more expensive than any other place I’ve been, so we’re all sharing rooms and paying the astronmical price of 550 baht a night (about $15). I’ve been feeling a bit off since I ate some meat off a cart on the street in Phuket, so I spent last night being sick while all the guys went out and partied at a bar that had “Lady boy kickboxing”. Seriously.

It’s so hot here, it’s incredible. On the boat over we had to keep alternating from the sundeck to underneath because it just got unbearable at times. After we managed to find rooms, we hit the beach then ate dinner. Since I was the only one not hungover this morning, I took the initiative to book us a snokeling trip around Koh Phi Phi Don (the island we’re staying on) and Koh Phi Phi Lei. We’re going to the beach where they filmed “The Beach” and monkey beach, where you can actually play with the monkies. The boat leaves at 3 and we snorkel, sunbathe and kayak until sunset, which we watch from the boat. Should be an experience.

4 Responses to “Koh Phi Phi”

  1. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    In Toronto it’s -15 Celsius at the moment, or -24 with wind chill.

    Having to leave the sundeck periodically because of the heat must have been just horrible.

    Admittedly, I’ve been staying inside where the weather is nice. That’s because I’ve had the flu for 9 days now.

    Plus Rick Segal’s most recent blog post was from the beach in St. Martin.

    Geeeeeeeeeeeeez.

  2. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    I’m with you Rohan…

  3. Jenny Says:

    Maybe it would have made more sense if I had spelled it ladyboy. The lady is really a boy. That’s Thailand for you. And it is the most beautiful beach in the world!

  4. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    Yes, Donata, all those things — plus fever (though it never got very high). But I went to my Traditional Chinese Medicine clinic today and I feel much better now. I was told that I’d been full of toxins. (I think Britney Spears did a song about me.)

Leave a Reply

