I need the following items…

  • A car
  • A phone
  • A home

A lack of the list above made for a very interesting day and night yesterday. I’m not quite sure what people did in the days before cell phones, but there must have been some seriously mislaid plans.

I forayed into the world of So Cal PT yesterday and it wasn’t very pretty. Unlike in Toronto, not every type of person takes public transportation. The people here who take it are only those that can’t afford a car. Everyone drives. Most of the people that I met yesterday while shopping, or going out to the club were not even aware of the fact that Los Angeles HAS a subway, despite living there their whole lives. Go figure. It’s great that there is actually a bus that goes right from my work to my home (when I get one, more on that later), but of course it takes 45 minutes instead of the 10 it would take driving. That’s not really a big deal though, it’s just one of those things you deal with when taking the bus, just budget more time. The big deal was when I got off the bus.

I had 3 things on my to-do list yesterday, which I figured I would all get done while I was in Pasadena. What I didn’t realize, when looking on the map is that Pasadena is BIG and what looks like it would be a 5 minute walk on a map is really a 30 minute walk. Because of this fact combined with a lack of shoes that don’t give me blisters, I got 1 of 3 accomplished.

Which leads me to the first item. I need a car. Probably sooner than I thought I would. Which I hate saying because I’m so anti-car. I don’t like driving. I don’t like cars. I’d much rather take PT, but they make it so difficult here.

Also, I need a phone. Not having a phone made for an interesting set of events where the girl that was supposed to pick me up last night had the wrong room number in the hotel. Because she couldn’t get ahold of me there was a series of communications that led everyone to believe that I was lying in a gutter somewhere in Pasadena. Thank god for facebook.

Lastly, I need a home. The supadupa apartment that I was supposed to move into on March 1 is NOT READY. The upside is that they’re doing renovations on it, so it’ll be awesome when I do move in. The downside is that it might not be ready before I leave to go to Toronto. The other part of that is that my apartment contents, which were supposed to be in Pasadena on March 1 were still in a warehouse in Toronto when I called the moving company. Beautiful. At least I don’t have to pay for storage because the apartment isn’t ready. All the clothes I have? Warm weather clothes for Thailand and southern California. My one warm-ish jacket? Lost in a club in Hollywood. Great. The one task I did accomplish was clearing out H&M and Forever 21 of all the cold weather clothes they still had in stock (ok, twist my arm, I’ll go shopping).

I feel like a hobo. I will have moved around to different hotels and people’s couches for nearly two months before this whole debacle is finished. Aaaaahhhh, life’s never dull!

4 Responses to “I need the following items…”

  1. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    Debaucle??

    Glad to see that university education is paying off…:-)

  2. Jenny Says:

    Oh leave me alone old man. I just got fake nails and can’t type anymore.

  3. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    Didn’t see those on your list of necessities…:-)

  4. Jenny Says:

    Look at you, soooooo funny.

Leave a Reply

