Possibly the best meal of my life

I’m not a big meat eater. I spent 5 years of my life as a vegetarian because I really just never saw the point of eating meat. Humans are intelligent beings that have the means to survive by not eating other animals. That and the fact that the way my mother cooks roast beef made me really just not like it (I love you mom, but it’s always overcooked).

Stephanie, my new boss, lives in Dallas and had told me that steak in Texas is just something that needs to be experienced, much like eating seafood in a port city. Having had fresh fish in Lisbon that changed my life, I was not about to turn down this opportunity, despite my long-standing dislike of meat. After we finished knocking down the booth at the end of the tradeshow today, we headed over to the Ruth’s Chris on 6th street for a cut of prime Texas beef.

I don’t think I’ve ever had food this good in my life. I have no other way to describe it, other than total blissful, meaty heaven. I can’t believe I’ve spent this much time not eating steak. Why oh why have I been wasting my time ordering the pasta? Thank you Texas, for opening up this whole world of eating opportunity. Adding in the great glass of red wine and the creme brule for dessert just pushed the entire meal over the top, I thought I might actually fall into a food pleasure coma.

And I ate the whole thing.

4 Responses to “Possibly the best meal of my life”

  1. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    Long ago I thought I’d eventually become vegetarian, but then I became a believer in eating what our bodies were evolved for: animal protein, fruits and vegetables. (Vegetarians don’t live as long as meat-eaters on average, even though they’re less likely to have horrible eating habits.)

    For me, the Holy Grail of eating will have arrived once we can manufacture meat/fish without involving actual animals.

    OK, now you have to tell us how many ounces the steak was.

  2. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    Somebody gonna get hurt…

  3. Jenny Says:

    The steak was 8 ounces. And I heard mom was mad about the roast beef comment. I stand by my statement.

  4. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    Easy for you to say when you are not close enough to get swatted…:-)

Leave a Reply

