All moved in

After the past two months of constant traveling and sleeping in hotels, hostels and other people’s couches, I’ve finally settled in my new apartment in Pasadena. I had to spend a few nights this week sleeping on my apartment floor on an air mattress because the moving company apparently thought I was kidding when I said that I move in March 1. The initial excitement of finally moving into my new place and reuniting with my stuff I haven’t seen since the beginning of February has now officially worn off. I spent the entire day unpacking, cleaning and cursing. Looking at the amount of stuff still sitting around at the moment, you’d think most of the effort went into cursing.

The only thing that made me laugh all weekend was opening up boxes packed by the movers. It was a surprise every time and made for a humorous afternoon when I would find utensils individually wrapped in paper, stuffed in with a box of living room decorations. The cheese grater in the entertainment stand was the highlight. I decided to put some music on while I was unpacking, but had a hard time finding the subwoofer for my computer speakers. After going through every possible box in the apartment, the subwoofer was nowhere to be found. Then I thought to myself, “where is the most random place it could possibly be”, and of course the answer to that question is “in my underwear drawer.” The initial excitement of finding it was then overcome by the thought that THE MOVERS WERE RIFLING THROUGH MY UNDERWEAR.

When at all possible, pack your own boxes.

8 Responses to “All moved in”

  1. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    Maybe Slava put the speaker in your underwear drawer…:-)

  2. Slava Says:

    Yeah, don’t worry about the movers.

    That was just me and Kaitlin trying to stuff all your bloody stuff after realizing that we were totally out of boxes. I was particularly careful with knifes cause I didn’t want you to accidentally cut your little fingers while unpacking.

  3. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    HAH!…knew it…sounded like me trying to fill the boxes we brought up!!

    If there was a small hole, whatever would fit went in there! To hell with packing by room!!

    Nice job Slava!

  4. Jenny Says:

    OMG I’m so glad that it wasn’t the movers. I had enough gross-out mover moments when they dripped sweat all over my furniture when moving it into my apartment. Seriously, it dripped onto the paperwork I was filling out too. Ick.

  5. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    Having your stuff packed “wherever” isn’t a bug, it’s a feature!

    My wife and I still have boxes that we haven’t opened since we moved four years ago. That’s because we labelled them nicely and we know that we don’t yet need what’s in them. You are spared this fate.

    So, Slava, how much are you charging for details about the underwear you found? No doubt some people would pay for that information. And then maybe Jenn would pay you more not to tell. Either way I want my percentage.

  6. Estrogen Overdosed Says:

    I’ll squeal…with 3 daughters there was enough of it hanging around.

    Wondered who was washing their shoe laces.

    That stuff has to hurt!!

  7. Jenny Says:

    OH MY GOD MAKE IT STOP

  8. Bobby Says:

    ‘Shoelaces.’ That’s hilarious.

    Slava, charge a sliding scale by how juicy the information is. You know, give a little for free, and then charge through the roof.

    And then there’s always eBay…

Leave a Reply

