Err on the side of “douchebag”

Note to all women: We are now embracing the term “douchebag” to refer to guys that are worthy of it. Apply liberally.

Unfortunately, not all guys are like my one-month-perfect-relationship boy. There are a lot of douchebags out there. A lot. Especially in Los Angeles. I’ve learned recently, through my own experiences and experiences of my girlfriends that more often than not that the guys down here are somewhat dumb, manipulative, sleazy, and/or waaaaaaay too into themselves. This doesn’t have anything to do with lessons from the book. These guys will incessantly chase you, and may actually be into you, but are completely lacking in tact or actual charm. Or an understanding that a ring on your lefthand ring finger means “no go”. We’ve learned that the lesson here is, if you’re unsure whether someone is actually a good guy, if you’re in the greater Los Angeles area…err on the side of “douchebag”.

6 Responses to “Err on the side of “douchebag””

  1. Bobby Says:

    As a side note, ‘douchebag’ is one of my former roommates’ favourite words. So when he moved in and said it, I got all happy. It’s a word I personally vowed to use a lot more often, and I’m happy to see it getting all it deserves.

  2. Jenny Says:

    I have to be honest when I heard someone say it a couple months ago, I was thrown off a little because I had spent a lot of time with a guy who thought I should be a “lady” and not use such profanity. Since then I’ve just thought “fuck that” and completely embraced it. Love it. Douchebag.

  3. Bobby Says:

    Oh, another reason is that the guys who write Robot Chicken throw it in their shows all the time.

    Funny, cos unless you’re referring to your Dad, I can’t imagine you as the type to conform to any one persons expectations as to what a ‘lady’ might be. I can only go by a couple of encounters, but I think you’re very lady-like.

  4. Slava Says:

    Haha.. funny stuff there Bobby..

  5. Jenny Says:

    I am very, very lady-like. Bite me.

  6. Rohan Jayasekera Says:

    That reminds me of a joke. I heard it before you were born so you might not know it.

    Disclaimer: this joke is presented here simply because it relates to the subject of the above post. Any opinions expressed or implied are those of the joke author, who cannot be credited because his/her identity is unknown to me.

    A man walks into a bar. [Just to make sure you know this is a joke.] The bartender asks him what he’d like. He says “a rum and coke, and I’ll buy the douchebag at the end of the bar whatever she wants”. The bartender is of course shocked and says “Sir, she seems like a very nice lady to me, and I’ll thank you not to refer to any of my customers like that.” The man says “OK, I’ll buy the lady at the end of the bar whatever she wants.” The bartender goes to the end of the bar and says “Ma’am, the gentleman over there would like to buy you a drink. May I get you something?” She says “Oh, that’s very nice. I’ll have a vinegar and water, please.”

Leave a Reply

